Halfway through Outreachy! :D

Halfway through Outreachy! :D

Hey!

I am mid-way through my Outreachy internship with Openstack now πŸ˜€ and have learned quite a few things in this period.

Firstly, one of the most important things that my mentor Nikhil helped me understand was that it is extremely important to interact with the community that you are working with (in my case, this was Glance). It is the people in the community that will review your patches, and it is them that you can go to if facing any problems with your work. One of the ways of interacting with the community is attending the weekly meetings. Another thing that I learned was the importance of reviewing other people’s patches. Reviewing people’s patches is another great way of interacting with the community.

In the last few weeks, I started helping out with some reviews. One of the major challenges I faced when starting out with this was finding patches that I could review. Finding patches that need reviewing, and that I am also experienced enough to be able to review was a bit of a challenge. To start out with, you really need to spend some time going through patches, understand what they are trying to achieve, go through the changes being made, try and see if you can think of a better approach to any of the changes made. Once you’ve reviewed a couple of patches and you get the hang of how this works, the process becomes much easier.

I’ve learned a lot during the period of this internship, and I hope to learn a lot more in the coming weeks!

Thanks a lot for reading! πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

